Ian Hutchinson won today’s Superstock race at the International North West 200 for Tyco BMW and finished second in the opening Superbike race.

The Bingley ace, who clocked up 204.7mph aboard his S1000RR Superstock bike during the re-started race, waited until the last lap to play his ace card, taking the win and a new lap record at 122.702mph.

Hutchinson said: “This has made my day and hopefully the team’s. I knew it was going to be fast today with the conditions being so good, but I had to become a mathematician. I was able to ride flat in top through Station [Corner] and that helped me get the run on the others. The Tyco BMW team has done an amazing job putting good bikes under me. I’m delighted.”

Hutchinson was an early race leader in the Superbike class, which was also cut short with a red flag incident. The 11-time TT winner brought his TAS Racing machine home in second place after complaining of a minor gearbox problem.

Team Manager Philip Neill said: “To add another NW200 victory to our tally is really very satisfying. Ian did a great job today winning the Superstock race in convincing fashion, with a Superstock Speed Trap at 205mph, confirming the full potential of the Tyco BMW S1000RR.

“Second place in the Superbike race was also pleasing and having identified a few small issues we were looking forward to the feature North West 200 Superbike race, which was unfortunately cancelled.

“The NW200 is a busy week and credit must go to our TAS Racing crew for their hard work once again. It was by no means a perfect week for us with Ryan Farquhar unable to compete through injury, and of course the event ended in very sad circumstances with the loss of a young and very talented rider. Our thoughts tonight are with the family of Malachi Mitchell-Thomas and the Burrows Racing Team.”

Superstock Results:

Winner – Ian Hutchinson [Tyco BMW] 22:07.389sec; 2nd – Peter Hickman [GB Moto Kawasaki] +0.615sec; 3rd – Alastair Seeley [RAF BMW] +0.767sec; 4th – Michael Rutter [Bathams/SMT BMW] +1.208sec; 5th – Michael Dunlop [MD BMW] +1.633sec; 6th – Lee Johnston [ECR BMW] +3.115sec

Superbike Results:

Winner – Michael Dunlop [Hawk BMW] 17mins: 37.556sec; 2nd – Ian Hutchinson [Tyco BMW] +5.206sec; 3rd – Michael Rutter [Bathams BMW] +5.524sec; 4th – Peter Hickman [GB Moto Kawasaki] +5.686sec; 5th – Lee Johnston [ECR BMW] +6.464sec; 6th – John McGuinness [Honda] +6.745sec

For more information please contact –